Join the Hardy Plant Society Find out how >

Our 60th Anniversary celebrations are under way. More than 60 Gardens to Visit and new Lapel Badges available 

Dorset

About the Group

The group meets at Colehill Memorial Hall, Cannon Hill Road, Wimborne BH21 2LR. (map).
Contact
Sheila Westgate
t. 01202 842188
e. dorset@hardy-plant.org.uk

2017 Programme

All meetings commence at 2-30 pm unless otherwise stated

Saturday, 28 January, 2017 2.00 pm 
AGM to be followed at 2.30 pm 
'Choice Plants of Rosemoor'
Chris Birchall
Saturday, 25 February, 2017
'New Tricks for Old Gardeners'
Katherine Crouch

BBC Gardener of the Decade for the 1990's
Saturday, 25 March 2.30 pm, 2017
'Dealing with Plants that Behave Badly' linked to 'The Book of Weeds'
Ken Thompson

Telegraph columnist 
Saturday, 29 April 
'Stars of the Spring Garden'
Kevin Hughes

from Heale House Garden, Salisbury
Sat 13 May, 2017 at 2.30 pm 
ANNUAL PLANT FAYRE 
at Colehill Memorial Hall. 
An opportunity to purchase plants grown by our own members. 
Refreshments available.
Tuesday 6 June, 2017
Coach Outing to RHS Rosemoor
Sun, Mon, Tues 2 - 4, July 2017
Coach Holiday to Norfolk
Thursday 31 August, 2017
Coach Outing to Sherfield English
Saturday, 30 September, 2017
'Gardening with Gravel'
 Marina Christopher
Saturday, 28 October 2.30 pm 
Roy Lancaster, the Hardy Plant Society President, talking about his book 'A Life of Plants' followed by:-
A “Diamond Jubilee Dinner” at Dudsbury Golf Club at 6.00 pm.
Tickets for this event are restricted to Dorset Group Members.
Saturday, 25 November, 2017  
'Using Perennials in the Modern Garden'
Neil Lucas,

Owner of Knoll Gardens

2016 Programme

Saturday 30th January, 2016 at 2.30 pm
“A Lifetime of Plants”
Bob Gibbons
nature photographer and author of ‘Wildflower Wonder of the World’.

Saturday 27th February, 2016 talk at 2.30 pm and AGM
“New, Different and Unusual Plants”
Michael Perry
Thompson & Morgan’s New Product Development Manager

Saturday 2nd April, 2016 at 2.30 pm (plus Seedling Swap)
“The History (and Future) of the Cottage Garden”
Neil Lovesey
Picket Lane Nursery owner

Wednesday 27th April, 2016 at 7.30 pm
“Wildside: A Naturalistic Approach to Gardening”
Keith Wiley
owner of Wildside, Buckland Monachorum

Saturday 7th May, 2016 at 2.30 pm
The Plant Fayre in Colehill Memorial Hall

Sunday 5th June, 2016 to Tuesday 7 June
Coach holiday to Herefordshire
A 3-day holiday staying at the Three Counties Hotel, Hereford

Sunday 26th June, 2016 11 am to 5 pm
Colehill Gardens Gadabout
Local HPS gardens open, plant sale, lunches and teas in Colehill Memorial Hall

Wednesday 28th September, 2016 at 7.30 pm
“Bullet Proof Plants”
Andy McIndoe
MD of Hilliers Nurseries

Saturday 29th October, 2016 at 2.30 pm
“The Versatile World of Salvias”
Leila Jackson
grower at T3 Plants in Herefordshire

Saturday 26th November, 2016 at 2.30 pm
“Ornamental Vegetables in the Flower Garden”
Sally Gregson
Henley Mill Nursery

This site uses cookies to store some information.

Close