Join the Hardy Plant Society Find out how >

Which perennial  plants have performed well this year? We invite you to tell us in a blog!

Southern Counties

About the Group

The group meets at the Old Barn Hall, Great Bookham, KT23 3PQ. (map)
Contact
Sandra Hartley
01372 727715
southerncounties@hardy-plant.org.uk
For full details visit the Southern Counties Group website
or their Facebook page 

2018 Programme

All meetings commence at 10.15 for 10.45 am except where otherwise stated

Saturday 13th January, 2018 
'Gilbert White the Gardener’
David Standing

Plant sale            
Raffle
Saturday 17th February, 2018    
'50 Greys of Shade’
Colin Moat

Plant sale            
Raffle
Saturday 17th March, 2018 10.00 am for 10.30 am
AGM.  
'Gardens of Sussex and Kent’
 Nigel Philips

Plant sale        
Raffle
Saturday 21st April, 2018
‘Space, Illusion and Other Mysteries’
Paul Hervey- Brookes

Plant sale            
Seedling swap    
Raffle
Wednesday 9th May, 2018  10.00 am 
Garden visit to Surrey
Munstead Wood, Godalming – morning 
Thursday 21st June, 2018 9.00 am
Coach trip to Hampshire
Pick up at Leatherhead Leisure centre
Wednesday 11th July, 2018  10.30 am    
Garden visit to Kent
Long Barn, Sevenoaks and Great Comp, Platt – all day
Wednesday 8th August, 2018  11.00 am    
Garden visit to Hampshire
Wheatley House, Bordon and Whispers, Dogmersfield – all day 
September, 2018    
Coffee morning in a member’s garden
To be confirmed
Saturday 20th October, 2018
‘For the Love of Snowdrops’
Lyn Miles

Plant sale            
Raffle
Saturday 24th November, 2018 
Party Time
‘Confessions of a Gardener’
 Alan Sargent

Lunch, followed by further entertainment         
Free raffle

2017 Programme

14th January, 2017 
‘Secrets of Hever Castle and Gardens’
Neil Miller

Plant sale            
Raffle
18th February, 2017 
‘Hunting Wild Cannas in Argentina’
Christine Hayward 

Plant sale            
Raffle
18th March, 2017 10.00 for 10.30 am
AGM
‘Parham Gardens’
Tom Brown

Plant sale        
Raffle
22nd April, 2017 
‘365 Days of Colour in Your Garden’
Nick Bailey

Plant sale            
Seedling swap    
Raffle
25th May, 2017 11.15 am    
Garden visit to Surrey
Chauffeur’s Flat, Tandridge; Caxton House, Reigate and Shieling, Kingswood – all day
14th June, 2017 Time to be confirmed    
Garden visit to Surrey
First garden to be confirmed; Stuart Cottage, East Clandon – afternoon
5th July, 2017 9.00 am
Coach trip to West Sussex
Pick-up at Leatherhead Leisure Centre
15th to 17th July, 2017    
3-day coach trip to Worcestershire
2nd August, 2017 11.00 am        
Garden visit to Sussex and Surrey
Whitehanger, Malabar and Bardsey, Haslemere – all day
21st October, 2017     
‘Autumn Fireworks’
Anne Godfrey

Plant sale
Raffle
25th November, 2017
Party Time
‘How to Design a Border Focusing on Plants and Colour'
Laura de Beden

Lunch, followed by further entertainment         
Free raffle

2016 Programme

Sat 16th January, 2016 at 10.15 for 10.45 am
'Plant hunting in Arunachal Pradesh'
Matthew Reese
Raffle.

Sat 13th February, 2016 at 10.15 for 10.45 am
'History and Development of Woolbeding House and Garden'
Paul Gallivan
Plant sale. Raffle.

Sat 12th March, 2016 at 10.00 for 10.30 am
'Delightful Dahlias'
John and June Baker
Also AGM
Plant sale. Raffle.

Sat 19th March, 2016 
HPS National AGM and Annual Lecture Day
hosted by the SCG
Reigate College, Reigate RH2 0SD

Sat 16th April, 2016 at 10.15 for 10.45 am
'Gardening in the Media'
Steve Bradley
Plant Sale. Raffle.

Tues 3rd May, 2016 Pick-up at 9.00 am
All Day Coach Trip to Hampshire
Pick-up at Leatherhead Leisure Centre

Saturday 18th June, 2016 12 noon to 4.00 pm
Plant Sale
at Bookham Village Day, Old Barn Hall, Great Bookham KT23 3PQ

Saturday 18 and Sunday 19th June, 2016 
10am - 5pm Saturday and 10am - 4pm Sunday
Plant Society Show at RHS Garden Wisley
Wilson’s Wood

Tue 21st June, 2016 at 2.30 pm
Afternoon Garden Visit to Surrey

Wed 20th July, 2016 at 10.30 am
All Day Garden Visit to Sussex

Wed 10th August, 2016 at 10.30 am
All Day Garden Visit to Surrey

Thurs 15th September, 2016 
Coffee morning in member’s garden
Contact Group for details

Sat 15th October, 2016 at 10.15 for 10.45 am
'The Creative Shrub Garden'
Andy McIndoe
Plant sale. Raffle.

Sat 19th November, 2016 at 10.15 for 10.45 am
'An Almost A–Z of Great Garden Plants'
Mark Saunders
Party Time with Lunch, followed by further entertainment.
Free raffle.


© Hardy Plant Society 2018. Web design by CWS

This site uses cookies to store some information.

Close